Connect with us

College Football

2019 FCS Playoffs Bracket: Bison vs. Everyone

One-Double-A all the way.

Come and get your 2019 FCS Playoffs bracket here.

The former Division I-AA level of NCAA college football has a much larger bracket system to choose its champion than the FBS level. Of course, North Dakota State keeps winning this bracket, so does it really matter?

We join the action in the second round, where we meet the top eight seeds in the country. Foremost among them, you guessed it, are the Bison. They are followed in order, by James Madison, Weber State, Sacramento State, Montana State, Montana, South Dakota State, and Central Arkansas. This is turning out to be a good year for so-called “flyover country,” with the Dakotas, Utah, and Montana making up over sixty percent of the seeded teams.

North Dakota State are beyond a dynasty in FCS football. With seven national championships in the last eight years – maybe making it eight out of nine with a third head coach doing it – they are the team to beat. They could be unseeded and they would still be the team to beat. They are by far the most playoff-experienced team in the field. By team, this is the number of FCS national championships won by each second-round playoff team:

Everybody Else

-Albany: 0
-Austin Peay: 0
-Central Arkansas: 0
-Illinois State: 0
-James Madison: 2
-Kennesaw State: 0
-Monmouth: 0
-Montana: 2
-Montana State: 1
-Nicholls State: 0
-Northern Iowa: 0
-Sacramento State: 0
-South Dakota State: 0
-Southeastern Louisiana: 0
-Weber State: 0


The Bison

-North Dakota State: 7

The Bison have more national championships than the other 15 remaining playoff teams put together. You can see why they remain such a heavy favorite. Teams that might jump up and bite them like James Madison and rival South Dakota State are deep on the other side of the bracket.

2019 FCS Playoffs Bracket

2019 FCS Playoffs Bracket -National Championship

National Championship Notes:

This is the eighth time in nine years that North Dakota State has made it to the national championship game.

Their opponent, James Madison, is the only other team to win a national championship in the past nine years.

The North Dakota State vs. James Madison game will be a rematch of the 2017 season’s title game, in which North Dakota State won.

To date, North Dakota State is undefeated in national championship games. James Madison won on two of their previous three trips, with the only loss being to North Dakota State.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in College Football

Font Resize

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.