Connect with us
2018 CFL Playoffs and 106th Grey Cup


2018 CFL Playoffs and the 106th Grey Cup

Going the whole 110 yards.

The end result of the 2018 CFL Playoffs will be one team winning the 106th Grey Cup. You have six from which to choose.

We have the CFL playoff bracket, where you can watch six teams reduce to one in just a matter of weeks.

What we already know is that we will not have a repeat champion. The Toronto Argonauts won the 105th Grey Cup in 2017 in Ottawa. They did not, however, make the playoffs this year. Someone new is going to get it, and maybe this time it will be the Calgary Stampeders. If they lose a third in a row this year, they will be approaching Buffalo Bills territory, and nobody wants that.

2018 CFL Playoffs: The Bracket

2018 CFL Playoffs - Grey Cup Playoffs Final bracket

2018 CFL Playoffs: Calgary Wins the Grey Cup

The Calgary Stampeders won the 106th Grey Cup with a 27-16 victory over the Ottawa Redblacks.

This marked the eighth Grey Cup for the Stamps, and their first since 2014.

2018 CFL Playoffs: Division Finals

We are getting the Grey Cup we expected with the Calgary Stampeders and Ottawa Redblacks each winning their division finals. This sets up a rematch of the 104th Grey Cup (2016), in which Ottawa defeated Calgary in overtime.

Out West, Calgary defeated Winnipeg, 22-14. The Blue Bombers took the early lead, but the Stamps went ahead in the second quarter and never relinquished. Bo Levi Mitchell tossed three touchdown passes in victory.

Meanwhile, in the East, Canada’s capital again reigned supreme: Ottawa defeated Hamilton, 46-27. The Redblacks never trailed in the contest, and when your quarterback throws six touchdown passes, it’s probably a good day. Such was the case for Trevor Harris, who racked up 367 yards and only threw three incompletions in 32 attempts.

2018 CFL Playoffs: Division Semifinals

Hamilton defeated BC, 48-8. Jeremiah Masoli threw three touchdown passes in this contest which was never close. The Ticats move on to face division champion Ottawa for a trip to the 106th Grey Cup.

Winnipeg defeated Saskatchewan, 23-18. The second game was much closer, with the Blue Bombers squeaking out a 23-18 win on the road. Andrew Harris was one of the stars of the game for Winnipeg, rushing for 153 yards and a touchdown. Winnipeg now advances to face Calgary for the West crown.

2018 CFL Playoffs: The Teams

W1 Calgary Stampeders 13-5
E1 Ottawa Redblacks 11-7
W2 Saskatchewan Roughriders 12-6
E2 Hamilton Tiger-Cats 8-10
W3 Winnipeg Blue Bombers 10-8
W4 BC Lions 9-9

Calgary Stampeders

Calgary has won the Grey Cup seven times, with the most recent coming in 2014.

The Stamps owned the best record in the CFL during the 2018 season.

They have been in the Grey Cup final the previous two seasons, losing both in close games that came down to the wire.

Ottawa Redblacks

The Redblacks won their first and only championship in 2016. The Bracket Yard was around to cover that happening.

Ottawa were the East Division champions at 11-7, the only team in the division with a winning record.

They have two all-time appearances in the Grey Cup final.

Saskatchewan Roughriders

Saskatchewan finished second in the West Division, and took the second-best record in the league in 2018.

The Roughriders have won the Grey Cup four times, most recently in 2013. This was also their most recent appearance. That win also happened to be a home game, only the third time the final was held in Regina.

Hamilton Tiger-Cats

The Ticats came in second in the East Division at 8-10, and are the only team with a losing record in the field.

Hamilton’s title drought dates back to 1999, when they won their eighth and to date final Grey Cup. They have only made the final twice since then.

Winnipeg Blue Bombers

The Blue Bombers came in third in the West Division at 10-8.

They own the most prolific offense in the Canadian Football League with 550 points scored.

Winnipeg has the longest championship drought of any team in the CFL, last winning the Grey Cup in 1990. Since then, they have lost all five appearances in the final.

BC Lions

BC was the fourth and final team from the West Division to qualify for the playoffs at 9-9; they beat Edmonton on a season series tiebreaker.

At minus-50, they have the worst point differential of any team in the field.

The Lions have won the Grey Cup six times, with the last in 2011.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in International

Font Resize

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.